UPDATED: APRIL 2024 | VERSION 6

The Schengen Area

The Schengen Area signifies a zone where 29 European countries have abolished their internal borders for free and unrestricted movement of people.

The 25 EU member states part of the Schengen Area marked with Red

Austria Latvia Belgium Lithuania Bulgaria Luxemboura Croatia Malta Czechia Netherlands Denmark Poland Estonia Portugal Finland Romania France Slovakia Slovenia Germany Greece Spain Hungary Sweden

Special areas marked with Blue

Monaco, San Marino, Gibraltar, and the Vatican City have opened their borders but are not members of the visa-free zone.

The Azores, Madeira, and the Canary Islands are special members of the EU and part of the Schengen Area, even though they are located outside the European continent.

The 2 EU member states not part of the Schengen Area marked with

Yellow

Cyprus, South Cyprus

The other 4 states that are a part of the Schengen Area marked with

Light red

Iceland Liechtenstein Norway Switzerland







